Porter County Museum of History Reopens

The Porter County Museum of History reopens on September 18. The building has been restored and features new and reorganized exhibitions.

About the Porter County Museum
The Historical Society’s collection was compiled largely due in part to Indiana’s Centennial Celebration in 1916 and the determination and perseverance of the 28 founding members of the organization.

The Historical Society’s collection was officially showcased for the first time in the basement of the Valparaiso Public Library on May 11th, 1922. When space became restricted, the collection was moved to the third floor of the then newly remodeled Porter County Courthouse. Doors to the collection first opened to the public on January 17th, 1938.

After nearly 40 years, the collection once again faced the growing issue of spatial constraint. With much debate and some opposition, the Historical Society’s collection moved to the Old County Jail and Sheriff’s Residence on September 17th, 1974. The Old Jail Museum officially opened its doors to the public on May 11th, 1975-53 years after the collection was first publicly displayed. Quickly thereafter, the museum was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on June 23rd, 1976 and continues to be an integral part of Porter County and the surrounding community. On May 11, 2007, the Museum officially changed its name from the Old Jail Museum to the Porter County Museum. Once used during the better part of the 1960’s, the Porter County Museum name better reflects the diversity of the Historical Society’s truly irreplaceable collection.

Porter County Museum of History 153 Franklin Street Valparaiso, IN 46383 Tel: 219.465.3595 or [email protected]

www.portercountymuseum.org

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top