Seattle Art Museum (SAM) Announces Jenny Heishman as Winner of the 2011 Betty Bowen Award

The Betty Bowen Committee announced that Jenny Heishman is the winner of the 2011 Betty Bowen Award. The award comes with an unrestricted cash prize of $15,000. In addition a selection of Heishman’s work will be on view at the Seattle Art Museum (SAM) beginning October 20, 2011. The Betty Bowen Committee, chaired by Gary Glant and administered through SAM, has selected local artists to win cash prizes for 33 years.

SuttonBeresCuller (SBC), Ties That Bind. Custom made polypropylene ratchet straps, 40’ x 80’ x 40’

SuttonBeresCuller (SBC) was awarded the Kayla Skinner Special Recognition Award in the amount of $2,500 and Lisa Liedgren was selected to receive the PONCHO Special Recognition award, also in the amount of $2,500. Five finalists, including Michael Endo and Marc Roder, chosen from a pool of 529 applicants from Washington, Oregon and Idaho, competed for the $20,000 in awards.

Award Ceremony
Heishman, SBC and Liedgren will receive their awards and discuss their work at a public ceremony on Thursday, October 20 from 6-7 pm in the Plestcheeff Auditorium at SAM Downtown. A public reception will follow from 7-8 pm in SAM’s Simons Board Room. Both the ceremony and reception are free and open to the public.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.