Kunsthallen Brandts Announces The Second ENTER Talent Exhibition

Kunsthallen Brandts will be presenting 20 of the most significant young artists on the Danish art scene at the moment.

In connection with this, one of the major Danish art prizes will be awarded:
ENTERPRIZE 2011 in the amount of 100,000 DKK

In 2008, Kunsthallen Brandts decided to create a new platform for young Danish artists in the form of a large-scale, recurring group exhibition to be presented in Kunsthallen’s two most spacious galleries. This time 20 artists will occupy 800 square meters.

The intention now, as it was then, is to provide young artists with a way of reaching the public other than that offered by the gallery system. In our view, it is important that art institutions care for the new and young contemporary artists in our own local context, too, giving them sufficient space and attention.

With ENTER 2, Kunsthallen thus draws attention to a number of young Danish artists who have made their mark in recent years. And the major prize, ENTERPRIZE, will once again be awarded in accordance with the judgment of an international jury.

ENTERPRIZE is one of the largest Danish art prizes, established by Montana in connection with the first ENTER exhibition at Kunsthallen Brandts. It consists of a main prize of 100,000 DKK and two travel grants of 25,000 DKK each.

The Artists in ENTER 2
Søren Assenholt, Kristoffer Akselbo, Vibe Bredahl, Ismar Cirkinagic, Jeannette Ehlers, Rose Eken, Gudrun Hasle, Asmund Havsteen-Mikkelsen, Hesselholdt & Mejlvang, Thore Ipsen, Marie Kølbæk Iversen, Brian Ravnholt Jepsen, Jane Jin Kaisen, Ferdinand Ahm Krag, Marie Søndergaard Lolk, Lasse Krog Møller, Julie Sass, Christian Vind, Vinyl – Terror & – Horror og Ebbe Stub Wittrup.

The artists who were selected have all completed their education and have a connection with Denmark. They have also demonstrated significant talent and attracted attention in the Danish art world through their innovative and pioneering work.

Curators and Jury Members
The team of curators consists of Lars Grambye, director of Kunsthallen Brandts, curators Lene Burkard and Anna Krogh, and the heads of three Danish art academies: Mikkel Bogh, Merete Jankowski and Jesper Rasmussen.

The jury members are: Chus Martinez, associate curator at MACBA, Barcelona and co-curator of DOCUMENTA 13; Dirk Luckow, director of Deichtorhallen, Hamburg; Åsa Nacking, director of Lunds Konsthall, Lund, Sweden.

Opening and Presentation of the Prize
The exhibition opens on 13 October at 5 p.m. The former director of Montana, now member of Montana’s board, Peter Lassen, will be presenting the prize.
The exhibition will be open to the public from 14 October 2011 to 29 January 2012.

Kunsthallen Brandts will publish an exhibition catalogue presenting the artists and a selection of their previous works.

ENTER 2008
The winner of the ENTERPRIZE 2008 was Lea Porsager (born 1981) with the work LEAP – The Awakening of the Dark Muses. The jury consisted of Iwona Blazwick, Anselm Franke and Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev.

Image: Asmund Havsteen Mikkelsen, “The Future as a Sphere,” 2011.
Oil on canvas.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.