Museum PR Announcements News and Information

Socrates Sculpture Park Presents EAF11 2011 Emerging Artist Fellowship Exhibition (EAF11)

Socrates Sculpture Park presents EAF11: 2011 Emerging Artist Fellowship an exhibition (EAF11) on view through March 4, 2012, featuring new works by the Park’s current resident artists. Twenty new pieces will be installed throughout the landscape and viewing will be free and open to the general public.

The EAF11 exhibition launches a year-long celebration of the Park’s 25th Anniversary. After a five-year expansion of two additional artists per year, the EAF11 exhibition also marks the first annual initiative to support twenty artists. The 2011 fellows are: Cecile Chong, Joy Curtis, Nadja Frank, Ben Godward, Darren Goins, Ethan Greenbaum, Jesse A. Greenberg, Rachel Higgins, Roxanne Jackson, Hong Seon Jang, Jason Clay Lewis, Saul Melman, Jo Nigoghossian, Nick Paparone, Don Porcella, Jessica Segall, Walter Benjamin Smith, Jean-Marc Superville Sovak, Nicolas Touron, and Nichole van Beek.

Fellowship artists are awarded a grant and a residency in the Park’s outdoor studio and are also provided with technical support and access to tools, materials, and equipment to facilitate the production of new sculptures for exhibition in the Park. The artists develop their projects throughout the summer in the open studio and on site in the landscape, offering visitors the opportunity to experience the creation of the works that are then installed in the Park. Representing a broad range of materials, working methods and subject matter, the diverse sculptural works in this exhibition are presented against the spectacular waterfront view of the Manhattan skyline.

Emerging Artist Fellows are selected annually through an open application process and reviewed by a committee comprised of past EAF recipients; established artists who have shown a commitment to mentoring and advocating for younger artists; as well a writers, gallerists, and curators who have special knowledge of contemporary art. The 2011 Advisory Committee members were: Erin Donnelly, Special Projects Consultant for the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council and Exhibition Coordinator and Curator for Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts (VLA) Art & Law Residency Program; David Brooks, 2009 EAF recipient; Dan Byers, Associate Curator of Contemporary Art at the Carnegie Museum of Art; Scott Zieher, published poet and co-owner and director of ZieherSmith gallery. –

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *