Museum PR Announcements News and Information

National Portrait Gallery Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition 2013 Winners Announced

The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery announces that Bo Gehring of Beacon, N.Y., has received first prize for the “Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition 2013” for a video titled “Jessica Wickham.” First prize is a cash award of $25,000 and a separate commission from the museum to portray a remarkable living American for its permanent collection.

Second prize was awarded to Jennifer Levonian of Philadelphia, who submitted a digital video animation titled “Buffalo Milk Yogurt.” Third prize went to Sequoyah Aono of New York. His self-portrait sculpture was created with acrylic on wood. Commended artists are Paul D’Amato of Riverside, Ill., for his photograph “Lillian, New Covenant Church of Deliverance, Chicago, 2011”; Martha Mayer Erlebacher, from Elkins Park, Pa., for her pencil-on-paper self-portrait; Heidi Fancher, from Washington, D.C., for her C-print photograph titled “For Delia”; and Beverly McIver of Durham, N.C., for her oil-on-canvas work titled, “Depression.” Each will be awarded a cash prize.

These works are finalists in the nation’s most prestigious portrait competition. Of more than 3,000 entries submitted from across the country, 48 artists’ works were chosen to display in the exhibition; seven of these were chosen for the short list. Submissions included digital animation and video, large-scale drawings, prints, photographs and textiles, as well as painted and sculpted portraits.

National Portrait Gallery Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition Finalists and Shortlisted Artists 2013

*Denotes artists who were selected for the short list.

Leslie Adams, Toledo, Ohio

Veronika Adaskova, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Keliy Anderson-Staley, Russellville, Ark.

Sequoyah Aono, New York*

Bo Bartlett, Vashon, Wash.

Aaron Morgan Brown, Selinsgrove, Pa.

Laura Chasman, Roslindale, Mass.

Sean Cheetham, Los Angeles

Lia Cook, Berkeley, Calif.

Paul D’Amato, Riverside, Ill.*

Lynn Davison, Naples, Fla.

Ray DiCapua, Storrs, Conn.

Willard Dixon, San Rafael, Calif.

Tim Doud, Washington, D.C.

Martha Mayer Erlebacher, Elkins Park, Pa.*

Heidi Fancher, Washington, D.C.*

Carole Feuerman, New York

Lucy Fradkin, Staten Island, N.Y.

Rieko Fujinami, Beacon, N.Y.

Bo Gehring, Beacon, N.Y.*

Vincent Giarrano, Washington Depot, Conn.

Philip Grausman, Washington, Conn.

Jason Hanasik, San Francisco

Gwen Hardie, New York

Anne Harris, Riverside, Ill.

Erik Hougen, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Edgar Jerins, New York

David Kassan, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Saeri Kiritani, Forest Hills, N.Y.

Bridget Lanigan, Coram, N.Y.

Megan Ledbetter, Jamaica Plain, Mass.

Jennifer Levonian, Philadelphia*

Beverly McIver, Durham, N.C.*

Tina Mion, Winslow, Ariz.

Katie O’Hagan, Beacon, N.Y.

Louie Palu, Washington, D.C.

Bly Pope, New Richmond, Wis.

Catherine Prescott, Mechanicsburg, Pa.

Caitlin Teal Price, Washington, D.C.

Carolyn Schlam, Taos, N.M.

Neil Shigley, San Diego

Burton Philip Silverman, New York

Michael A. Smith, Ottsville, Pa.

Ginny Stanford, Sebastopol, Calif.

Tema Stauffer, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Tun Ping Wang, Long Island City, N.Y.

Jill Wissmiller, Memphis, Tenn.

Kumi Yamashita, New York

The National Portrait Gallery is part of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for American Art and Portraiture at Eighth and F streets N.W., Washington, D.C. Smithsonian Information: (202) 633-1000. Website: