Museum PR Announcements News and Information

2013 Yanghyun Prize awarded to Rivane Neuenschwander

The Yanghyun Foundation announce the Brazilian artist Rivane Neuenschwander as the recipient of the 2013 Yanghyun Prize. Neuenschwander has been selected by the jury panel consisting of Fumio Nanjo, Director of Mori Art Museum, and Philippe Vergne, Director of Dia Art Foundation.

Rivane Neuenschwander was born in 1967 in Brazil. She studied at the Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil and later at the Royal College of Art, London, and currently lives and works in London and Belo Horizonte, Brazil. She is one of the most internationally renowned Brazilian artists of her generation. She participated in the 50th and 51st Venice Biennales, the 3rd SITE Santa Fé Biennial, the 5th and 12th Istanbul Biennial, the 24th and 28th editions of the Bienal de São Paulo, and others. She has held recent solo exhibitions at the New Museum in New York, the Malmö Konsthall in Malmö, Sweden and at the Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin. Her works are present in large institutional collections such as those of Tate, London; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Inhotim, Brumadinho, Brazil; MACBA, Barcelona; MAM São Paulo and Collección Jumex, Mexico City, among others.

The jury panel commented in their statement, “Neuenschwander’s work brings together painting, photography, film, sculpture, installation and collaboration with audience, and is often based on an awareness of simple gestures, processes and quotidian ‘savoir faire.’ Vernacular traditions and daily actions are transformed to humble aesthetics in her work.”

The Award Ceremony and the recipient’s Art Lecture take place on 11 October at the Matrix Hall, Seoul Museum.

About the Yanghyun Prize
The Yanghyun Prize was established in 2008 as the first international art prize by a Korean institution. Its key aim is to acknowledge and support outstanding artists by offering a global stage for exhibiting their work, a long-standing wish of the late Mr. Sooho Cho, who was a well-known art lover and philanthropist. The recipient is awarded a cash prize as well as a sponsorship for an exhibition at a world renowned art museum of her or his choice. Past recipients are Cameron Jamie (2008), Isa Genzken (2009), Jewyo Rhii (2010), Akram Zaatari (2011) and Abraham Cruzvillegas (2012).

Award ceremony and art lecture: Friday 11 October, 14.30–16h
Matrix Hall, Seoul Museum
Buam-dong, Jongro-gu
Seoul, Korea

Yanghyun Foundation
21 Bukchon-ro 12-gil,
Jongro-gu, Seoul 110-260, Korea
T +82 2 3770 6730
[email protected]