Museum PR Announcements News and Information

Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina present do it Hans Ulrich Obrist

Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina presents do it curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist from November 15 through December 14, 2013, marking the first time that do it has been realized in Kosovo.

do it at Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina, 2013. Photo: Atdhe Mulla.
do it at Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina, 2013. Photo: Atdhe Mulla.
Drawing from a specific reading of the project and instructions from the 2013 publication, do it: the compendium, Stacion produces an interpretation of do it that is both site-specific and global in scope.

With do it, Stacion aims to create new uncalculated spaces for thinking and initiate actions that open the possibility for altering the role of the audience or the receiver of information and art. For Stacion’s presentation of do it, exhibition spaces, television and newspapers have all become platforms for channeling artist instructions and making public the process of transmitting unconventional content while not documenting the consequences.

Since its beginning in 1993, do it has grown from twelve artist instructions that were the result of a conversation between Hans Ulrich Obrist and artists Christian Boltanski and Bertrand Lavier to an ongoing project including over 400 international artists, making it the longest running and most far-reaching exhibition to ever occur. do it has been realized throughout the world in countries including China, Hungary, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, the United States, Estonia, Costa Rica, Slovenia, Uruguay and now Kosovo.

Artists part of do it at Stacion include Marina Abramović, Etel Adnan, Ai Weiwei, Sophia Al Maria, Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Pawel Althamer, Carl Andre, Kathryn Andrews, Uri Aran, Cory Arcangel, John Armleder, Robert Ashley, David Askevold, Ed Atkins, Tarek Atoui, Lutz Bacher, Darren Bader, Nairy Baghramian, John Baldessari, Matthew Barney, Yto Barrada, Robert Barry, Gianfranco Baruchello, Jérôme Bel, Bernadette Corporation, Gerry Bibby, Dara Birnbaum, Mel Bochner, John Bock, Christian Boltanski, Iñaki Bonillas, Louise Bourgeois, Geta Bratescu, Waltercio Caldas, Mircea Cantor, Cao Fei, Antonio Caro, Maurizio Cattelan, John Chamberlain, Paul Chan, Boris Charmatz, Chu Yun, Jay Chung, Hélène Cixous, Claire Fontaine, Amy E. Cohen and Francisco J.Varela, Douglas Coupland, Meg Cranston, Critical Art Ensemble, Minerva Cuevas, Tacita Dean, Wilson Díaz, Diller + Scofidio, Trisha Donnelly, Jimmie Durham, Maria Eichhorn, Olafur Eliasson, Elmgreen & Dragset, Tracey Emin, Ayşe Erkmen, Cerith Wyn Evans, Matias Faldbakken and Anders Nordby, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Feng Mengbo, Fischli & Weiss, William Forsythe, Simone Forti, Hreinn Fridfinnsson, Yona Friedman, Simon Fujiwara, Theaster Gates, Paul-Armand Gette, Jef Geys, Gilbert & George, Simryn Gill, Liam Gillick, Édouard Glissant, Leon Golub, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Douglas Gordon, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Konstantin Grcic, Joseph Grigely, Ulrike Grossarth, Gu Dexin, Marie-Ange Guilleminot, Shilpa Gupta, Anna Halprin, Richard Hamilton, NS Harsha, Mona Hatoum, Federico Herrero, Anthony Hill, María Teresa Hincapié, Roger Hiorns, Damien Hirst, Shere Hite, Nicholas Hlobo, Carsten Höller, Jonathan Horowitz, Hu Fang, Huang Yong Ping, Pierre Huyghe, Fabrice Hybert, Cristina Iglesias, Joan Jonas, Ilya Kabakov, Stephen J. Kaltenbach, Mike Kelley, Hassan Khan, Kim Beom, Ben Kinmont, Ragnar Kjartansson, Alison Knowles, Aaron Koblin, Terence Koh, Jiří Kolář, Július Koller, Koo Jeong-A, Surasi Kusolwong, Suzanne Lacy, David Lamelas, Adriana Lara, Bertrand Lavier, Kemang Wa Lehulere, Xavier Le Roy, Sol LeWitt, Klara Liden, Erik van Lieshout, Lucy R. Lippard, Liu Ding, Liu Wei, Thomas Lommée, Aníbal López, Lee Lozano, Lu Chunsheng, Sarah Lucas, David Lynch, Jorge Macchi, Tobias Madison, Mark Manders, Christian Marclay, Enzo Mari, Eva Marisaldi, Chris Marker, Helen Marten, Paul McCarthy, Cildo Meireles, Jonas Mekas, Annette Messager, Olaf Metzel, John Miller, Andrei Monastyrski, Valérie Mréjen, Otto Mühl, Eileen Myles, Jean-Luc Nancy, Deimantas Narkevičius, Ernesto Neto, Rivane Neuenschwander, Max Neuhaus, Albert Oehlen, Román Ondák, Yoko Ono, Füsun Onur, Damián Ortega, Fernando Ortega, Clifford Owens, Nam June Paik, Pak Sheung-Chuen, Charlemagne Palestine, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Lygia Pape, Nicolás Paris, Philippe Parreno, Marko Peljhan, Amalia Pica, Cesare Pietroiusti, Adrian Piper, Michelangelo Pistoletto, Marjetica Potrč, Cedric Price, Raqs Media Collective, Casey E. B. Reas, David Reed, Tobias Rehberger, Pedro Reyes, Jason Rhoades, Pipilotti Rist, David Robbins, Adrián Villar Rojas, Ugo Rondinone, Martha Rosler, Ed Ruscha, Claude Rutault, Anri Sala, Eszter Salamon, Tomás Saraceno, Julião Sarmento, Dimitar Sasselov, Peter Saville, Tomas Schmit, Thomas Schütte, Tino Sehgal, Kazuyo Sejima, Hassan Sharif, Jim Shaw, Rupert Sheldrake, Shimabuku, Gabriel Sierra, Alexandre Singh, Andreas Slominski, Michael Smith, Michael E. Smith, Nancy Spero, Bruce Sterling, Mladen Stilinović, Sturtevant, Hugo Suter, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Yasunao Tone, Mario Garcίa Torres, Ryan Trecartin, Rosemarie Trockel, Agnes Varda, Anton Vidokle, Tris Vonna-Michell, Franz Erhard Walther, Wang Jianwei, Wang Wei, Hannah Weinberger, Lawrence Weiner, Richard Wentworth, Franz West, Emmett Williams, gil wolman, Erwin Wurm, Xu Tan, Xu Zhen, Yang Fudong, Dardan Zhegrova, and Zheng Guogu.

The invitation for thinking new instructions for do it was open to all Kosovar citizens.

About Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina
Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina is a project institution for contemporary art and architecture, established in 2006 by artist Albert Heta and architect Vala Osmani. Stacion is conceived as a space for artists, architects, thinkers, critics and other sociopolitical workers committed to reflecting on and responding to relevant challenges of the contemporary society with an active, critical and emancipatory approach. Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina functions as an open platform that employs strategies to create a dialogue with a differentiated public; works with clear social and political intents; encourages artistic practice and advanced architectural research, stands for intellectual independence and works to create conditions where contemporary thought and practice can happen.

About do it
do it is a traveling exhibition conceived and curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist, and organized by Independent Curators International (ICI), New York. The exhibition and the accompanying publication were made possible, in part by grants from the Elizabeth Firestone Graham Foundation, the Robert Sterling Clark Foundation, and with the generous support from Project Perpetual and ICI’s International Forum and Board of Trustees.

do it at Stacion – Center for Contemporary Art Prishtina is part of ‘Rethinking (Social) Space Program’ and is supported by Ministry of European Integration of the Republic of Kosovo, Independent Curators International, New York, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kosovo, Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports of the Republic of Kosovo, Koha Group and DZG.