Museum PR Announcements News and Information

Tate Britain Presents Turner Prize 2010 Exhibition

The Turner Prize 2010 exhibition, open through Monday 3 January 2011, features work by the four shortlisted artists: Dexter Dalwood, Angela de la Cruz, Susan Philipsz and The Otolith Group.

The winner of the prize will be announced during a live broadcast of the award ceremony on Channel 4 on the evening of Monday 6 December 2010. This year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

The winner will be decided by a jury whose members are: Isabel Carlos, Director, Centre for Modern Art CAMJAP; Philip Hensher, Writer, critic and journalist; Andrew Nairne, Executive Director, Arts Strategy, Arts Council England; Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery and Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury.

The shortlisted artists for the Turner Prize 2010 are:

Dexter Dalwood, who exhibits a group of paintings including works from the nominated exhibition at Tate St Ives, such as Death of David Kelly 2009 and Greenham Common 2008, which present new visual testaments to well-known moments from recent history. Paintings inspired by literary figures such as Burroughs in Tangiers 2005 and Herman Melville 2005 are also on show along with a new work, White Flag2010. Working from collages of found imagery, Dalwood creates richly layered paintings about individuals and events that have shaped Western society throughout the twentieth century.

Angela de la Cruz, who presents a selection of works which evoke various physical states and human frailties including Deflated IX 2010 and Super Clutter XXL (Pink and Brown)2006, which began life as traditional monochrome paintings before the artist subjected them to unusual and often violent distortions. Untitled (Hold no. 1)2005, is also included as an example of de la Cruz’s recent work with everyday objects and furniture. De la Cruz uses the language of painting and sculpture to redefine the relationship between the two mediums.

Susan Philipsz, who presents Lowlands 2008/2010, a 3-channel sound installation of sixteenth-century Scottish lament Lowlands Away, which was shown as part of her nominated exhibition at the Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art. Reconfigured for the Turner Prize, Philipsz’s vocals reverberate and expand in the otherwise vacant gallery. Drawing on the powerful, immersive properties of sound and the human voice, Philipsz is engaged with the notion of singing as a physical and sculptural experience.

The Otolith Group, who will show Otolith III 2009, a film partially inspired by director Satyajit Ray’s screenplay for his unrealised 1967 film The Alien, which was shown as part of their nominated exhibition at Showroom, London. A video installation Inner Time of Television2007 – 2010, made in collaboration with French film-maker Chris Marker, will also be presented as well as an artists book and three roundtable discussions on the poetics of the essay-film. The Otolith Group consists of artists Kodwo Eshun and Anjalika Sagar. They work collaboratively across a range of disciplines, in particular the moving image, investigating the potential in overlooked histories through reworkings of archival and contemporary footage.

The Turner Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 27 April 2010. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

Image: Tate Britain © Tate

Tate Britain
United Kingdom

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *