Louisiana Museum of Modern Art presents Pink Caviar New acquisitions 2009–2011

The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Copenhagen presents Pink Caviar New acquisitions 2009–2011 , an exhibition on view 24 May–19 August 2012.

Poster image: Wolfgang Tillmans, Freischwimmer 130, 2009. C-print. Acquired with funding by Augustinus Fonden

Louisiana is well known as a leading museum of modern art in Scandinavia, and one of the virtues of the modern museum is to keep up with the times, and find the art that adapts to change. With the exhibition Pink Caviar, Louisiana unveils the works that the museum has acquired over the past three years. More than fifty artists will take over a large part of the museum, with over 180 works of new art from all over the world. The extensive exhibition adds a long list of new names to the Louisiana collection and offers a diverse range of works and genres, from small drawings to imposing sculptures, photography to installation, and painting to video.

The collecting strategy at Louisiana Museum follows three lines
Retrospectively closing obvious gaps in the collection, where possible—a current example is Allen Ruppersberg, a veteran artist whose conceptual art from the ’70s onward played a major role in the Los Angeles scene with which the museum has an existing connection.

Supplementing existing groups of works with new acquisitions that extend the understanding and coverage of the collection—the Asger Jorn room now has three new pictures; and there are new works in the collection by Poul Gernes, Sigmar Polke, Georg Baselitz, and others.

Buying contemporary art by young and mid-career artists—and this is where the main thrust of the exhibition Pink Caviar lies—a presentation of contemporary art en masse, with a gaze at the world, and the narratives in it that the museum wants to follow, as well as the thematic interconnections that have already been established over the years.

Participating artists
Ai Weiwei, Rosa Barba, Yael Bartana, Sophie Calle, Vija Celmins, Thomas Demand, Olafur Eliasson, Andreas Eriksson, Simon Evans, Öyvind Fahlström, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Poul Gernes, Sigurdur Gudmundsson, Shilpa Gupta, Jacob Holdt, Roni Horn, Elliot Hundley, Matthew Day Jackson, Chris Johanson, Isaac Julien, Jesper Just, Zilvinas Kempinas, Rosy Keyser, Anselm Kiefer, Per Kirkeby, Yayoi Kusama, Klara Lidén, Michel Majerus, Gerold Miller, Marilyn Minter, Nicolai Mircea, Sigmar Polke, Sheng Qi, Tal R, Daniel Richter, Thomas Ruff, Allen Ruppersberg, Yorgos Sapountzis, Dayanita Singh, Tove Storch, Thomas Struth, Al Taylor, Wolfgang Tillmans, Marcel van Eeden, Francesca Woodman, Erwin Wurm

In connection with the exhibition, a reference catalogue with texts about the individual artists by Poul Erik Tøjner, director of Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, is published.

Louisiana Museum of Modern Art
3050 Humlebæk

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.